Fort Jacques and Fort Alexandre constitute one of the fortifications of the defensive system improvised by Emperor Jean-Jacques Dessalines to prevent the return of the French after the independence of the island of Haiti.  The forts were built under the direction of General Alexandre Petion. They were high on hilltops surrounding the town of Kenscoff near Petionville. 

The forts were named Alexander in honor of Alexandre Petion and Jacques in honor of Jean-Jacques Dessalines. Fort Jacques was completed in one year and armed with guns and bomb. Fort Alexander was flanked by four bastions angle. The fort was abandoned in Alexander's death Jean-Jacques Dessalines in 1806.
From Fort Jacques, you can see the entire bay of Port-au-Prince.

The fort was restored Jacques, while the Fort Alexander, which is east of Fort Jacques, is practically in ruins. Every year, May 18 (anniversary of the founding of the Haitian flag), a pilgrimage, a funfair and music concerts are held in the same places of these forts.

Available departures

Unfortunately, no places are available on this tour at the moment


Petion-VillePétion-Ville is a wealthier part of Haiti, in which many multiracial Haitians live. Avenues like Laboule and Morne Calvaire are known for their palatial mansions. There is an extreme, almost feudal divide between rich and poor in Haiti. The gated and privately guarded neighborhoods resemble a Haitian version of Beverly Hills or Caracas, but with Read more

We are sorry, there are no reviews yet for this tour.